Many early Methodist leaders preached at Dudley’s Chapel, including Bishop Francis Asbury, Jesse Lee (first Methodist historian) and Freeborn Garrettson (first Native American Methodist minister). Located off Route 300, west of Sudlersville, the chapel dates back to 1783 and stands as the first Methodist meeting house in the county and one of the nation’s earliest.
The Queen Anne’s Methodists Society was organized in 1774 and oversaw the chapel’s construction. This chapel is an outstanding example of an early rural church.
With its rectangular plan and steep gable roof it typifies late 18th century churches in Maryland. The use of brick in the chapel, rare for the times, attests to the importance of the church and the affluence of the congregation.