Stevensville is a charming historic town
that developed after the 1850 sale
of two farms owned by James and Charles Stevens. An 1877 tax map showed
town boasted nearly 30 structures, including dwellings, churches, stores,
doctor’s office, a post office, an Odd Fellows’ Hall and a hotel.
Stevensville prospered due to its prime location at the center of the
steamboat trade system that served both sides of the Chesapeake Bay in the
mid-19th century. The railroad came to Stevensville in 1902, and by 1909
town had two schools, four doctors, a blacksmith and a sawmill. The end of
passenger rail service by 1938 and freight line service by 1948 halted the
growth of the town. Today, Stevensville is a well-preserved community that
retains its heyday 1920s appearance with many of the historic structures
intact. The Stevensville Historic District was placed on the National
Historic Register in 1986.